Leaving on a jet plane…

Today is Friday, May 9. We leave on Monday, May 12 for Orlando, Florida.  We are flying out of Orlando on Tuesday for Cuenca, Ecuador. About 4 weeks ago we decided to go and spy out the land with a view to moving to this beautiful South American country and what a whirlwind it has been since!

Last October we wrote the branch and asked about the need for English speakers in the territory in Ecuador. We received an encouraging, detailed letter directing us to Cuenca. I was thrilled and Chet was…let’s just say a bit indifferent. We made it a matter of prayer and then put it on the shelf because we still had a daughter at home who was not able or willing at that point to relocate, especially out of the country!

I kept praying about moving to expand our ministry. I cried about expanding our ministry and yes, I even beat my head against the wall…in short I didn’t want to leave it on the shelf. I wanted action! I implored Jehovah, beseeched him, begged him and yes, I whined! He had more lessons in store for me, not the least being patience!

And then, through a series of unique events everything lined up during this past month and voila! we are moving! My daughter decided to move to Kentucky, my husband said “If not now, when?” and “Ecuador, is the place!” and I almost fainted! Jehovah did it again. He has helped us sell all (down to the teaspoons in our house) our possessions! All our furniture, 2 cars, etc., etc., The only thing left to sell is our 4 bedroom, 3 bath home. So if you know of anyone who wants to leave near the beach in southern Alabama…the congregation is super sweet and there are 33 of the most adorable kids you will ever want to meet!

Chet and I visited Rosemary Beach 3 wks before departure, a chance to unwind before the whirlwind started.
Chet and I visited Rosemary Beach 3 wks before departure, a chance to unwind before the whirlwind started.
These beaches are some of the most beautiful in the U.S, we had a wonderful opportunity to enjoy Jehovah's creation in the south.
These beaches are some of the most beautiful in the U.S, we had a wonderful opportunity to enjoy Jehovah’s creation in the south.

We will be in Cuenca for 3 weeks and then it’s back here to hopefully finalize the sale of the house. We are praying to apply Matthew 6:33 and not get too anxious about that. Keep us in your prayers. Next post will be from Cuenca. See you then….Hasta Luego!

5 thoughts on “Leaving on a jet plane…

  1. Jodie says:

    What a great idea, a blog! As I’ve already expressed to you, I am soooo excited for you and Chet. What a wonderful opportunity for you both.

    1. Hi Chante and Chet – got your blog address from Wendy and so excited to hear from you. What I want to impart to both of you is to continue to trust in Jehovah (Prov. 3:5-6) and continue to put kingdom interests first (Matt. 6:33). God’s word never fails and it will continue to instill even more confidence in both you). So proud of you for taking the big step into the unknown. Here is the promise from Jehovah – Mal. 3:10. We send our love to you both – Beverly & Milton

Leave a comment